Sections of the Ohio Department of Public Safety

The Ohio Department of Public Safety is a large organization with several key divisions under its umbrella, each with a specific function tailored to meet the department’s overarching mission.

  • Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV): This office is in charge of driver licensing and vehicle registration. The BMV serves as a cornerstone in maintaining road safety by ensuring that only qualified individuals operate vehicles on Ohio’s roads.
  • Ohio State Highway Patrol: This division is in charge of enforcing traffic laws and making sure Ohio’s highways are safe. Highway patrol officers serve as the frontline in reducing accidents and promoting safe driving habits.

Although not exhaustive, these divisions represent the core operational components of the ODPS. Each division works in concert, providing a comprehensive approach to public safety.

History of the Ohio Department of Public Safety

The ODPS has a rich history, beginning its journey in 1953 as the Department of Highway Safety. The original name reflects the department’s initial focus on road safety, particularly in regulating vehicle operation and maintaining the safety of the state’s highways. However, as the scope of public safety broadened, so did the department’s mandate. In 1992, the Department of Highway Safety was renamed the Ohio Department of Public Safety to better represent its expanded mission.

How the Ohio Department of Public Safety Serves the Area

The ODPS serves the Ohio area by fostering a safety-first culture. This is not just within the department but across the community as a whole. The department works in close collaboration with other law enforcement agencies, emergency services, and local communities to deliver a comprehensive approach to public safety.

One of the notable ways the department serves the area is through its proactive initiatives. The OHMV (Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles), for example, is critical in promoting safe driving habits among Ohioans, while the Ohio State Highway Patrol enforces traffic laws to ensure road safety.

Moreover, the department’s commitment to public safety extends to community engagement and public education. This fosters a strong relationship with the communities it serves, making public safety a shared responsibility. The department and the community create a safer environment for all Ohio residents and visitors by working together.

The Ohio Department of Public Safety represents a comprehensive approach to public safety. It’s broad mandate and all-encompassing approach enable it to respond effectively to the Ohio community’s diverse needs. Through a commitment to service and a dedication to safety, the ODPS continues to play a crucial role in making Ohio a safer place to live and visit.

The Department of Public Safety’s headquarters is located in Columbus, Ohio.


Click here to view Ohio accident reports