Tallahassee Accident Reports

Help When You Need It

At AccidentReports.com, we have created a collision report information center that allows you to search for and locate a copy of your traffic accident report as soon as possible. Searches are fast, simple, and hassle-free. Get started searching for your Tallahassee Police Department accident report now by filling out the form on this page and submitting your accident information.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Do I Get a Copy of My Motor Vehicle Crash Report in Tallahassee?

You can obtain a copy of your traffic accident report at AccidentReports.com, now, or you can get your copy from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, also referred to as the FLHSMV.

Online Florida Crash Portal

You can visit the FLHSMV online Florida crash portal to purchase your Tallahassee police report. Fill out the Public Records Request form on the Florida crash portal and include your full name, time, date, and the location of the accident, and include the appropriate payment. Requests are processed in the order they are received, so you may have to wait several weeks before you receive your report.

Mail-In Requests

For mail-in requests, you can send a written request to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department within sixty days of the accident. You must include a sworn statement at this time since collision reports are not available to the general public for the first two months. Only parties involved in the accident will be eligible to receive a copy during this sixty-day period.

How to Get Your Traffic Report from Local Law Enforcement Agencies

You can also obtain a copy of your initial incident report from the local Law Enforcement Department via a mail-in request or in-person public records request.

Visit the Tallahassee City Police Department in Leon County In-Person

For in-person requests, you can visit the Tallahassee Police department in Leon County that filed the accident report and request your copy in person. At the Tallahassee City Police Department, you must provide a valid government-issued driver’s license or ID, fill out a Records Request Form, and pay the appropriate fee.

How Much Does a Traffic Crash Report Cost?

Tallahassee and Jacksonville accident reports are $10 per report. For online requests, you must pay an additional $2 fee per copy. Accepted forms of payment include personal checks and money orders. For online payments, credit cards and debit cards are accepted.

Why Do I Need to Get a Copy of My Traffic Crash Report in Leon County?

If you were injured in the accident or your vehicle was damaged or totaled you must file an insurance claim with the other driver’s insurance company to pursue compensation for your injuries and other losses. Obtaining a copy of your incident report can help strengthen your claim because it includes vital information regarding the events that led up to the collision and what took place after the accident. Important information includes the responding Law Enforcement Officer’s opinion regarding who they believe should be held liable for the accident. A personal injury lawyer can use the information found in a collision report to build a strong case that can help you receive the compensation you deserve for your injuries, medical bills, lost wages, and other damages.

When Will My Leon County Collision Report Be Available?

The standard processing time can take four to six weeks to receive copies of your crash report by mail or in person. If the accident involved a personal injury, personal property crime, violent crime, or a fatality, the standard processing time will not apply and the accident report may be unavailable for several months. Same-day requests are not available at this time.

Who Can Obtain a Copy of a Collision Report?

  • All parties involved in the accident
  • The parent or legal guardian of a minor
  • Legal representative
  • Insurance adjuster

What Information is in a Traffic Crash Report?

  • The names and contact information for all parties involved
  • The date, time, and location of the accident
  • Description of personal injuries
  • Description of property damage
  • Any citations issued for an intoxicated driver/drunk driver, traffic violations, or other crimes
  • Insurance policy information
  • A diagram of the accident scene
  • Vehicle descriptions
  • License plates and VINs
  • Driver’s license numbers
  • Traffic enforcement officer’s name and badge number
  • A crash narrative that explains the events that lead up to the motor vehicle crash and who the police officer believes was responsible for the collision.

What’s The Best Way to Get My Leon County Traffic Police Report?

If you plan to pursue compensation for your injuries and other losses, obtaining your Florida incident report from AccidentReports.com is the fastest and simplest way. If you don’t have time to wait for your report to arrive in the mail and you’re unable to pick your report up in person, AccidentReports.com offers a safe, secure, and fast way to get a copy of your crash report the minute it’s available. Start your search now.
Fill Out the Form on this Page to Begin Your Online Accident Report Search