Help When You Need it the Most

After a serious motor vehicle accident in Travis County, you must obtain your crash report as soon as possible. Unfortunately, most police departments require accident victims to travel to the department in person to pick up their copy or wait several days or weeks for their report to arrive in the mail. At AccidentReports.com, we provide a faster way to obtain a copy of your Northwest Austin crash report online, right when you need it the most.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Can I Get a Copy of My Travis County Crash Report?

You can obtain a copy of your Southwest Austin police report by searching the online information center at AccidentReports.com. To start your search, fill out the form on this page and submit your accident information now.
You can also go through the Austin Police Department and request your copy of Austin public records in person or send in a request by mail.

Request Records In-Person

You can visit the Main Police Headquarters Report Sales, located at:

715 E 8th Street
Austin, TX 78768

And fill out an Accident Report Request Form to receive your agency report.

Hours of operation: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Contact the APD in West Austin City by phone prior to picking up your report to ensure it’s available.

Austin main police phone: (512) 974-5499

Mail Request

You can mail an accident report request form for your Texas accident report and mail your request to:

Austin Police Department Report Sales
P.O. Box 689001
Austin, TX
78768

For mail delivery, you must include a self-addressed stamped envelope that contains the appropriate fee. Accepted forms of payment include money orders, cash, or personal checks. Mail delivery can take several weeks since a mail request is processed in the order it’s received. You must keep this in mind if you need to obtain your report as soon as possible.

When Will My CR-3 Crash Report Be Available?

It can take up to twelve business days before your agency report is available. If the auto accident involved a violent crime, common property crime, fatality, auto-pedestrian crash, fatal motorcycle crash, or personal injuries, then there may be an ongoing investigation. This means you cannot make a crash data request until the investigation has concluded. This may take several weeks or months. Mail requests can take significantly longer to process compared to obtaining copies in person. If you sent a written mail request and have not received your report within three weeks of the mail request, contact the police department to inquire about the status of your report.

What are the Costs - Crash Reports?

An Austin or Fort Worth accident report will cost $6 per copy.

Do I Have to File an Accident Report in Travis County if Police Didn’t Respond to the Scene?

When a motor vehicle crash has not been investigated by a law enforcement officer from the NW Austin Police Department, property damage does not exceed $1,000, and the accident did not result in a fatality or personal injuries, the driver must fill out the Driver’s Crash Report, also known as Form CR – 2. All involved drivers should retain this document for their records and insurance purposes. The form must be filed with the police department not the Texas Department of Transportation.

What Information is in an Austin City Traffic Crash Report?

A Southeast Austin Police Department traffic accident report will include:

  • The contact information for all parties involved
  • Date and location of the accident
  • Insurance information
  • Description crash
  • Time of accident
  • Witness statements and contact information
  • A diagram of the accident scene
  • A description of personal injuries and property damage
  • A description of anything that may have contributed to the crash, such as broken or missing traffic signs or lights
  • The Travis County police officer’s opinion concerning which party they believe was at fault for the accident
  • VIN or license plate numbers

Who Can Obtain an Unredacted Copy of a Traffic Report?

  • Any party involved in the crash
  • Accident lawyer
  • The legal guardian of a minor
  • Insurance company/insurance adjuster

What if My Collision Took Place on the Highway?

If your crash took place out of the Austin city limits you must contact the Travis County Sheriff’s Office, Hays County Sheriff’s Office, or the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office.

Why Do I Need a Copy of My Austin City Collision Report?

After an automobile accident in Travis County, if you sustained personal injuries, and/or significant property damage, you must file an accident claim with the other driver’s insurance company or file a personal injury lawsuit. An at-fault driver has a financial responsibility to cover the cost of damages sustained in the collision. You must also fulfill the burden of proof, and provide evidence that clearly indicates the other driver should be held liable for your damages. A Travis County accident report includes vital information that can help strengthen your claim, including the opinion of the responding law enforcement officer regarding who they believe was at fault for the accident.

What’s the Quickest Way to Get My Travis County Traffic Accident Report?

At AccidentReports.com, you can search our extensive crash report information center and locate your report the minute it’s available. Searches are fast and simple. If you don’t have time to wait for your report to arrive in the mail and you’re unable to drive to pick up your report in person, take advantage of this free service and get your accident report now.

Fill Out the Form on this Page to Begin Your Online Accident Report Search