Search for Oregon Accident Report
AccidentReports.com offers the fastest and simplest way to get your Oregon crash report online, without the hassle. Easily get a copy of your report by searching our extensive collision report information center.
Oregon Accident Reports - FAQ
The Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report (735-32)
Drivers that were involved in a motor vehicle collision that resulted in any of the following are required to file the Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report (735-32):
- The auto accident resulted in a fatality
- The automobile accident resulted in a personal injury, regardless of how minor
- The motor vehicle collision resulted in vehicle damage over $2,500
- The car crash resulted in any type of personal property damage over $2,500
This report must be sent to the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 72 hours following the auto accident. Even if law enforcement responded to the scene of the accident and filed an incident report, you must still fill out the 735-32 form and send it to the DMV.
How Do I Get My Oregon Traffic Accident Report?
You can get a copy of your collision report right now, by filling out the online search form at AccidentReports.comYou can also obtain your accident report from the local law enforcement agency. For example, if you were involved in a car accident in Eugene, Oregon you must contact the Eugene Police Department and request your copy.Most Police Departments offer two ways of obtaining your accident report.
The most common way people obtain their crash reports in OR is by visiting their local Police Department and filling out a Public Records Request Form.
Record Request By Mail
Visit the local Police Department website and download a Public Records Request Form. Mail the completed form with payment and a copy of your photo identification to the Police Department Records Unit.
Why Is a Traffic collision Report Important?
To prove your claim after an auto accident, you must provide proof that the other driver involved was at fault for the crash. You must also prove that the other driver owed you a duty of care, breached their duty and that their breach caused the accident and subsequent damages. A traffic accident report will include information such as the involved officer’s opinion regarding who they believe was responsible for the accident, a description of vehicle damage, personal injuries sustained in the accident, and other relevant information that can strengthen your claim.
When Will My Oregon Traffic Accident Report Be Available?
In some cases, an Oregon police report will be available within forty-eight to seventy-two hours after the involved officer has filed the report. If the accident involved significant property damage, a physical injury collision, or in the event of a fatal collision, the processing time will be significantly affected.
How Much Does a Traffic Accident Report Cost?
The cost of Oregon accident reports will vary by agency and will depend on the length of the report. Costs can range from $8.00-$50.00 per copy. Accepted forms of payment include personal or business checks, credit cards, or money orders.
What Information is in a Police report?
An Oregon police report will contain the following information:
- Contact information for all parties involved
- Driver’s license number for each driver
- Date, time, and location of the accident
- Description of anything that may have contributed to the crash found at the accident scene, such as debris in the road
- Diagram of the traffic collision scene
- License plate numbers and VIN for each vehicle
- Whether criminal citations or a traffic citation was issued for reckless driving, criminal driving, distracted driving, driving under
- the influence of intoxicants, etc.
- Description of vehicle damage and other personal property damage
- Crash narrative written by the responding police officer. This narrative will include the events that led up to, during, and after the accident and who the police officer believes is the at-fault driver.Name of the reporting police agency and the police officer’s name and badge number
Who Can Access Unredacted Crash Reports?
- Any party involved in the accident
- Accident lawyer
- The legal guardian of a minor
- Vehicle owner
- Insurance company
At the time of pickup or when requesting copies of accident reports via mail, a driver’s license or government-issued ID must be provided.
How Can I Find Out Which Police Agency My Report was Filed With?
If you’re not sure what law enforcement agency filed your vehicle crash report, contact the local police department based on the city or county the accident took place in.Major police departments and sheriff’s offices can include:
- Oregon State Police
- Tigard Police Department
- Portland Police Department
- Salem Police Department
- Hillsboro Police Department
- Bend Police Department
- Rainer Police Department
- Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office
- Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office
- Baker County Sheriff’s Office
- Baker City Police Department
- Malheur County Sheriff’s Office
- Umatilla County Sheriff’s Office
- Harney County Sheriff’s Office
- Douglas County Sheriff’s Office
- Columbia County Sheriff’s Office
How Can I Get My Oregon Crash Report Online?
You can obtain your Oregon police report online through AccidentReports.com. We know that traveling to a local police department can be a hassle for the accident victim, especially if their vehicle was totaled in the accident and/or they sustained severe injuries. We’ve made it our mission to make life after a car crash easier for the accident victim.
Why Do I Need an Accident Report?
Oregon is a fault auto accident state, which means that a driver who is responsible for an accident must pay for the victim’s damages, whether the crash involved a pedestrian accident, DUI, DWI, or two or more vehicles.
Filing an Insurance Claim
If you were injured in an automobile accident due to the negligent actions or inactions of another driver, you can file a personal injury lawsuit or insurance claim against the other driver. An accident attorney will help you establish liability by gathering important evidence, including an Oregon accident report.These accident investigation reports contain valuable information, including the involved officer’s opinion concerning who they believe was responsible for the collision. Because of this, you must include a copy of your report when filing an accident claim or personal injury lawsuit.
How Does AccidentReports.com Work?
AccidentReports.com offers a comprehensive online Oregon crash report information center that allows you to search for accident reports from all over the state. Searches make obtaining a crash report a hassle-free experience. Our secure site and easy-to-use support center will allow you to search for and obtain your accident report the minute it’s available. Take advantage of our support center now by filling out the form on this page and submitting your accident information to get assistance.