Get Your Virginia Crash Report Now
If you don’t have time to wait for your collision report to arrive in the mail and you’re unable to pick up your report in person, AccidentReports.com offers the perfect solution. Our crash report information center allows you to search for accident reports all over the state of Virginia, so you can locate your report the minute it’s available.Take advantage of our extensive support center for a simple way to get your crash report right when you need it.
Virginia Accident Reports - FAQ
The Commonwealth of Virginia Police Crash Report Form FR300-P
The FR300-P Commonwealth of Virginia Police Crash Report is used by law enforcement officers that respond to the scene of an accident. These reports are used to report collisions to the Department of Public Safety. To request this form, you must contact the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.The FR300-P must be filled out by a police officer if they respond to an accident that resulted in:
- A fatality
- Property damage of $1,500 or more
- A personal injury of any kind
How Do I Get a Copy of My Virginia Accident Report?
You can obtain a copy of your Virginia police report at AccidentReports.com by filling out the form on this page and submitting your accident information, or you can obtain your report from the DMV.In the state of Virginia, after an accident, either an involved party or a police officer will file a Virginia police report. The Department of Motor Vehicles is the government agency responsible for keeping and distributing all collision reports. The DMV will keep official records of an accident for a minimum of thirty-six months.
Request Your Report By Mail
To request a copy of your Virginia crash report by mail you can visit the DMV’s website and fill out the CRD93 Form, and along with payment, mail it to:Customer Records Work Center, Room 514Virginia Department of Motor VehiclesPost Office Box 27412Richmond, VA23269You must also include your mailing address/return address, and email address or phone number. Police Department requests in writing can take longer to process. If you have not received your reportable crash report within twelve business days contact the DMV during regular business hours.
Public Records Request In-Person
If you want to obtain your crash record in person, visit the Virginia DMV website to locate the nearest Customer Service Center. At the DMV, you must fill out a Request Form and provide payment at the time of pick up.Regular business hours: 8 am-5 pm.
Crash Report Requests By Fax
To obtain copies of reports, you can fill out the Records Request Form and fax it to the DMV at: 804-367-0390.Requests for reports are processed in the order they’re received.
What is the Crash Report Fee?
The current fee per crash report is $8.00. Accepted forms of payment for copies of crash reports include payment via credit card, cash, debit cards, money order, or personal check. If you are requesting your traffic accident report by mail, you cannot make a payment in the form of cash or credit card.
What’s in a Virginia Police report?
Law Enforcement in Virginia is required to fill out the police crash report FR300P Form. This form contains general information, vehicle information, and passenger and driver information, such as:
- Date and time of crash
- Collision location
- Any landmarks near the accident
- Driver’s full name and address
- Insurance company information
- The number of vehicles involved
- Description of vehicle damage/private property damage
- Description of personal injuries
- Driver’s license number
- Road and weather conditions
- Name of the reporting police officer and police department
- Descriptions of anything that may have contributed to the accident, such as broken traffic lights, debris on the road
- Crash scene diagram
- Type of incident (motorcycle accident, semi-truck accident, pedestrian accident, bicycle accident, head-on collision, rollover, etc.)
- Names of victims
- Any citations issued for traffic offenses or arrests made(DWI, DUI, speeding, reckless driving, etc.)
- Contact details for all parties involved, such as mailing address, email, and phone number
- Witness information
- Reporting officer’s opinion concerning who they believe was responsible for the accident
- Vehicle registration information
When Will My Police Accident Report Be Available?
If law enforcement responds to your accident, they will submit the police incident report to the Virginia DMV within twenty-four hours of completing the investigation and it will be available to the public within ten business days. Accident reports for collisions that involve fatalities, an injured person, significant property damage, or criminal activity, may be unavailable for several weeks or months.
Who Can Request Copies of Incident reports from the Local Law Enforcement Agency?
The following people can request non-redacted copies of accident reports:
- Vehicle owner/property owner
- Any party involved in the accident
- An insurance company
- The legal guardian of a minor
- Personal representative/authorized representative
- Personal injury attorney
- Insurance agents/insurance adjuster
- Requests for traffic crash reports must include a copy of government-issued identification if requests are made by mail.
- Identification must be shown at the time of pickup if requests are made in person.
Why Do I Need to Get a Copy of My Traffic Incident report?
There are many reasons to obtain a copy of your auto accident report. A traffic collision report contains important information that you should keep for your records and pass along to your insurance company and the other driver’s insurance company.
Filing an Insurance Claim
If you plan to file an insurance claim, you must get a copy of your accident report to provide proof that the other driver was at-fault. A personal injury lawyer will use the information in a traffic collision report to negotiate with the other driver’s insurance company for fair compensation for your pain and suffering, medical bills, lost wages, vehicle damage, and other losses.
If you were involved in a drunk driving accident, your personal injury insurance claim will be separate from the other driver’s criminal case. The motor vehicle collision report will contain information regarding the other driver’s citations and arrest, which can help your personal injury lawyer prove that the other driver was liable for the car crash.
What’s the Fastest Way to Get a Copy of My Complete Crash Report?
If you don’t have time to wait for your incident report to arrive in the mail and cannot travel to pick up your report in person, we can help. AccidentReports.com allows you to utilize our information center and obtain your traffic crash report as soon as it’s available. Start your search now by filling out the form on this page and submitting your accident information to get assistance.