Get A Copy of Your Wisconsin Crash Report Online Faster
At AccidentReports.com, we offer a fast, simple way to get your crash report online, when you need it the most. In many cases, the DMV or local police department will require you to obtain a copy of your report in person or by mail. If you don’t have time to waste, AccidentReports.com offers a simple way to get your crash report, online, without the hassle.
Wisconsin Police report - Frequently Asked Questions
MV4002 Wisconsin Driver Report of Accident Form
If a police officer isn’t called to the scene of the accident, you must complete the MV4002 Wisconsin Driver Report of Accident form.The Wisconsin statute s.346701 requires a driver to report an accident if:
- A person sustained injuries
- There was $1000 of property damage
The Department of Transportation may contact you via mail and request that you complete a report due to your involvement in a reportable crash.
How Do I Get a Copy of My Traffic collision Report in Wisconsin?
You can get your collision report now on AccidentReports.com by searching our extensive crash report support center, or you can obtain your Wisconsin police report through the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation.You can request a copy of your report by:You can access Wisconsin car accident reports through the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation. You can request your copy of the report by:
Public Records Request in Person
You can visit the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation in person and fill out a Collision Report Request Form. The WDT is located at:4822 Madison Yards Way, MadisonContact the Department of Transportation by phone prior to pick up to ensure it’s available.Phone:(608) 266-8753
Public Records Request By Mail
Send in a written request for a copy of your report and mail your request to:P.O. Box 7919Madison, WI53707-7919You must include the traffic collision report payment when you mail in this document.
When Will My Copies of Police Reports Be Available?
Law enforcement agencies typically file a report within seventy-two hours for simple accidents.It can take up to ten business days before your report is available for pick up. Mail requests for records can take significantly longer to arrive since they’re processed in the order they’re received. If there was significant damage to property owned, a fatal incident, or personal injuries, or there is an open law enforcement investigation, the report may be unavailable for several weeks or months.If your crash incident report is still unavailable after ten business days, contact the police to learn more.
How Much Does a Traffic Accident Report Cost?
On average, Wisconsin and Tennessee accident reports can cost $6.00 to $20.00. Fees for reports vary depending on the length of the report.
Why Do I Need Copies of Police reports?
If state or local police respond to the scene of your auto accident, then a Wisconsin accident report will be written. As a party to the collision, you’ll want to get a copy of the incident report to share with the other driver’s insurance company, your insurance company, and your personal injury attorney if you plan to pursue compensation. The Wisconsin crash report contains important information, such as the opinion of the responding law enforcement officer concerning who they believe caused the accident, in addition to contact information for every party involved.
Filing an Insurance claim
If you were injured in an auto accident due to a negligent driver, you may be entitled to compensation for your personal injuries, pain and suffering, vehicle damage, and other losses. If you decide to hire a law firm to help you pursue your insurance claim for compensation, your personal injury lawyer can use the information in the traffic accident report to negotiate with the insurance company for a fair settlement.
Dealing with DUI, DWI, Criminal Charges After a Motor vehicle collision
Drunk driving accidents can result in severe injuries and pain and suffering. If you were injured in a drunk driving accident, the other motorist may face criminal charges such as a DWI, DUI, reckless driving, etc. If the negligent driver goes to trial for their criminal charges, you must still file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit to recover compensation. Even if the other driver’s DUI or DWI charges are dismissed, you may still be entitled to compensation. Legal professionals can help you file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit to pursue compensation. A personal injury attorney will use the information from the incident report and the negligent motorist’s criminal trial to help you recover a fair settlement.
How Can I Get a Copy of My Wisconsin Collision Report Online?
Life after a traffic accident can be overwhelming for many car crash victims who are recovering from catastrophic injuries and struggling with financial burdens due to a mounting pile of medical bills.At AccidentReports.com, we know how hard life is following a serious auto accident. Because of this, we decided to create an online collision report information center that allows accident victims to search for their crash report the minute it’s available. Searches are simple. Get started on your search now by filling out the form on this page and submitting your accident information.
Fill Out the Form on this Page to Begin Your Online Accident Report Search